Saturday, June 6, 2009

Is Wheatgrass Gluten-free?



I've been asked a couple of times by my friends if wheatgrass has gluten. Some people cannot take gluten as their body will react to it, especially since it has the word "wheat". Celiac disease is a medical condition that is particularly sensitive to gluten.

From Cynthia Kupper RD celiac diseaseExecutive Director, Gluten Intolerance Group, 206-246-6652; www.gluten.net:* :

"Q: Is barely and wheat grass safe to use in a gluten-free diet? What about sprouts?*
A: According to information from USDA research chemists, specializing in wheat gluten and cereal proteins and a statement from the American Association of Cereal Chemists, gluten is found only in the seed kernel (endosperm) and not in the stem and grass leaves. If the grass is cut from a growing plant and does not include the seed kernel, it should be safe for persons with gluten intolerance to use."

So juicing wheatgrass should be safe since you consume the leaves only. The powder versions from Easy Pha-Max are also safe since it contains the roots and the leaves when the plant reaches 8 days old.

Wheatgrass Man

1 comment:

aeroponics vs hydroponics said...

Thanks for the post, we will post your article aeroponics vs hydroponics.I will post for our customers to see your articles on your blog aeroponics vs hydroponics